Viet Huynh

The World as he sees It


Connect

For over 15 years, Couchsurfing has been more than just a platform to me; it’s been a lifeline of human connection. The community is based on social trust where travelers and locals unite, transcending barriers of status, race, or creed. Over the years, I’ve met many beautiful souls who become friends for life. One can be ‘trusted’ based on what is described on their profiles, and most importantly the number of positive references – the currency earned through countless acts of kindness and affirmation. People are not attached to any social or financial status, race, or religious differences… we are connected because of who we are, as human beings. Couchsurfing hasn’t just opened doors; it’s transformed the way I perceive the world, imprinting upon me the profound truth of our interconnectedness.

Once a year, I retreat in a monastery immersing myself in the silent dialogue between mind and spirit. During this time of being disconnected from the world, I confront the spectrum of human emotion, focusing only on my mind & body through meditation practices. I feel the pain, the joy, the fear, and any other feelings that come to my mind while staying alone in the jungle. And the emergence of those feelings may be just temporary and not as real as we thought they were. Next week would be the time of the year when Dan would be the first non-Vietnamese brother whom I introduce to the place. Through the shared embrace of mindfulness, I believe the world would become a better place when more and more people live life with purpose and clarity.

Yesterday marked the first time I tried contact improvisation (CI) and ecstatic dance. I find the rhythm of movement as a form of communion beyond words. Unlike solitary meditation, where the focus is inward, CI invites us to expand our awareness to include the movements of others – that is something I’ve never experienced before.

Modern societies can sometimes make us disconnected from each other, leaving us adrift in a sea of isolation. At a recent gathering of the Open Men’s Circle which I had a chance to attend last time, I saw the human authenticity as brothers of all backgrounds came together to share their stories. And yet, among the tears and laughter, a deeper truth emerged: the need to journey within, to confront the shadows, hoping to uncover the root of our collective pain and understand temporary feelings or illusions and the immutable truths of our shared humanity.



Leave a comment